# MINUTES CITY OF LAKE WORTH BEACH CHARTER REVIEW COMMITTEE VIA TELECONFERENCE WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 25, 2021 - 5:00 PM

<u>ROLL CALL:</u> Present were Ramsay Stevens, Chair; Sam Goodstein, Vice Chair and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos and Daniel Morgan and Phillip Ross Munro (arrived at 5:10 PM.) Also present were City Attorney Glen Torcivia and City Clerk Melissa Ann Coyne. Wes Blackman, Debra Robert, Zade Shamsi-Basha and Dave Wilson were absent.

# PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

A. August 9, 2021

<u>Action:</u> Motion made by Joyce Brown and seconded by Anthony Gallegos to approve the minutes as written.

Vote: AYES: Ramsay Stevens, Chair; Sam Goodstein, Vice Chair and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos and Daniel Morgan. NAYS: None. ABSENT: Wes Blackman, Debra Robert, Phillip Ross Munro, Zade Shamsi-Basha and Dave Wilson.

# **PUBLIC COMMENTS:** (3 minutes maximum per participant)

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS:**

A. Election Issues

Action: Motion made by Joyce Brown to make ranked choice voting a part of the charter of the city. MOTION FAILED FOR LACK OF A SECOND.

<u>Action</u>: Motion made by Sam Goodstein and seconded by Philip Ross Munro that in any election a candidate may concede without forcing a run off.

Vote: AYES: Ramsay Stevens, Chair; Sam Goodstein, Vice Chair and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos, Daniel Morgan and Phillip Ross Munro. NAYS: None. ABSENT: Wes Blackman, Debra Robert, Zade Shamsi-Basha and Dave Wilson.

Action: Motion made by Anthony Gallegos and seconded by Joyce Brown to recommend that the city commission adopt a resolution in support of ranked choice voting.

<u>Vote:</u> AYES: Ramsay Stevens, Chair; Sam Goodstein, Vice Chair and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos, Daniel Morgan

and Phillip Ross Munro. NAYS: None. ABSENT: Wes Blackman, Debra Robert, Zade Shamsi-Basha and Dave Wilson.

<u>Action</u>: Motion made by Sam Goodstein and seconded by Philip Ross Munro to allow election by plurality should the leading candidate get 40% plus 1 of the vote.

<u>Vote:</u> AYES: Ramsay Stevens, Chair; Sam Goodstein, Vice Chair and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos, Daniel Morgan and Phillip Ross Munro. NAYS: None. ABSENT: Wes Blackman, Debra Robert, Zade Shamsi-Basha and Dave Wilson.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

A. Discussion of September meeting dates

Action: Consensus was reached to hold the September meetings via teleconference on Tuesday, September 14 and Monday, September 27, 2021.

**PUBLIC COMMENTS:** (3 minutes maximum per participant)

# **ADJOURNMENT:**

The meeting adjourned at 6:14 PM.